Top 10 Zebra Subspecies You Didn’t Know You Missed Is Back

Zebra Subspecies Petshyme

Zebras, charismatic and iconic creatures of the African savanna, are a mesmerizing sight with their distinctive black and white striped coats. Within the zebra family, there are several subspecies, each unique in its characteristics and habitat.

In this exploration, we explore into the world of these subspecies, understanding their differences and the regions they call home.

  1. Grant’s Zebra
  2. Maneless Zebra
  3. Selous’ Zebra
  4. Quagga
  5. Grevy’s Zebra
  6. Burchell’s Zebra
  7. Chapman’s Zebra
  8. Hartmann’s Mountain Zebra
  9. Crawshay’s Zebra
  10. Cape Mountain Zebra

1. Grant’s Zebra (Equus quagga boehmi)

Grant’s Zebra, named after the British explorer James Augustus Grant, is one of the most common and recognizable subspecies. They are known for their numerous and bold black stripes, extending to their underbellies.

Grants Zebra

2. Maneless Zebra (Equus quagga borensis)

The Maneless Zebra, as the name suggests, is a subspecies with a shorter and less pronounced mane compared to other zebras. They are native to Ethiopia, Somalia, and Kenya, and their reduced mane gives them a distinctive appearance.

Maneless Zebra

3. Selous’ Zebra (Equus quagga selousi)

Selous’ Zebra, named after the famous big-game hunter and conservationist Frederick Selous, is found in southern Tanzania. They are characterized by their broader stripes compared to other subspecies.

Selous Zebra

4. Quagga (Equus quagga quagga)

The Quagga, unfortunately extinct since the late 19th century, was a unique subspecies that had a more brownish hue and reduced striping on the hindquarters and legs. Efforts are underway to revive this extinct subspecies through selective breeding.


5. Grevy’s Zebra (Equus grevyi)

Grevy’s Zebra is the largest and most threatened of all zebra subspecies. They have narrow and closely spaced stripes, resembling a mule. These zebras are found in Kenya and Ethiopia.

Grevys Zebra

6. Burchell’s Zebra (Equus quagga burchellii)

Burchell’s Zebra, named after the British explorer and naturalist William John Burchell, is one of the most widespread and numerous subspecies. They are characterized by their fine stripes all over the body, including the underbelly.

Burchells Zebra

7. Chapman’s Zebra (Equus quagga chapmani)

Chapman’s Zebra is a subspecies native to southern Zambia, Zimbabwe, and Mozambique. They have distinct broad stripes on their neck and chest, which tend to merge towards the body’s midline.

Chapmans Zebra

8. Hartmann’s Mountain Zebra (Equus zebra hartmannae)

Hartmann’s Mountain Zebra, native to Namibia and Angola, is a subspecies adapted to mountainous terrain. They are distinguished by their vertical stripes on the neck and torso.

Hartmanns Mountain Zebra

9. Crawshay’s Zebra (Equus quagga crawshayi)

Crawshay’s Zebra, named after the British colonel and ornithologist Richard Crawshay, is found in Zambia’s Luangwa River valley. They are characterized by their bold and broad stripes.

Crawshays Zebra

10. Cape Mountain Zebra (Equus zebra zebra)

Cape Mountain Zebra, found in South Africa, is a subspecies well-adapted to mountainous and rugged terrains. They are characterized by their relatively large, horizontal stripes.

Cape Mountain Zebra

Each of these zebra subspecies, with their unique characteristics and adaptations, adds to the allure of these magnificent creatures. Whether gracefully galloping across the plains or blending into the rocky terrains, zebras are a testament to the beauty of biodiversity and the wonders of the natural world.

You may also like:

Leave a Reply